Hello~

Tell the old school world who you are, and let us welcome you into the forum!
Animusubi
Anime Fan Since: 1989

Hello~

Post by Animusubi »

Hello everyone! My name is Chevelle (feel free to call me that or my username). I'm 30 years old, and I've been a fan of anime ever since I was 5 years old, when one of my first anime experiences were watching Saban's Grimm Fairy Tales on Nickelodeon and seeing Tezuka's Unico play on the Disney Channel. I knew the animation was different, and it peaked my interests towards other animation of the same quality. I watched Vampire Hunter D and Robot Carnival when I was probably too young to be watching them. The first anime VHS tapes I bought were Ranma 1/2, Tokyo Babylon, Tenchi Muyo, and El-Hazard to name a few. Ranma 1/2 is an anime I hold very dear to me, as it started my passion for drawing in the anime style, which I do freelance for a living.

I tried to join an anime club in my area but they didn't want me to join, because I was only 16 and a girl at the time. So I spent alot of time watching anime by myself. No one I knew really liked it as much as I do. I collected many Viz, ADV, Animeigo, and CPM anime VHS at the time, I rented and bought anything I could get my hands onto. But being $30-$35 per VHS, it was hard. And sometimes they didn't want to sell anime to kids like me. I remember coming home from high school to watch Toonami, but I'm not one of those kids from the Toonami generation. I got into it in it's early stages, but as new shows were being added, and old good ones were bumped off, I slowly stopped watching it altogether.