Here I be

Tell the old school world who you are, and let us welcome you into the forum!
TSOJ
Anime Fan Since: 1990

Here I be

Post by TSOJ »

I'm Curtis Hoffmann, one of those fans that got into anime through Akira back in 1990. At the time, the only way to get access to any kind of TV show or movie was through the tape trading network, and most of those were unsubbed nth generation. So, I started studying Japanese on my own with a handful of dictionaries and a couple copies of Lupin III color TV episode books. In '92 I decided to come to Japan to learn in a more immersive environment, which brought me into contact with Hitoshi Doi. Hitoshi helped me survive my first few months in Tokyo, and gave me access to the net since the gaijin ghetto I was living in didn't even have a phone line. At the time, he was summarizing Dragonball, Ranma 1/2 and Sailor Moon, and he asked me to take over DBZ for him. The rest is history.

In 1996, I returned to the U.S. and moved to Dallas to work for Hitachi as a tech writer. In 1999 I moved to Austin for a different Japanese company as a customer trainer. I stayed there 10 years before deciding to return to Japan in 2008. I was in Tokyo until the big quake last March, and I've been in Kyushu since as an English teacher. For the last 3.5 years, I've maintained a blog on life in Japan and anime, manga and maid cafes. Along the way I've created a couple more databases on top of the Akira Toriyama Superdatabase (Moyashimon, Geobreeders, and Garo for the years from 1967 to about 1972). One of my side projects is writing commentary on each of the manga magazines currently on the market (I think I've picked up 30 different titles so far).