Hi Everybody!

Tell the old school world who you are, and let us welcome you into the forum!
Guyver I
Anime Fan Since: 1992

Hi Everybody!

Post by Guyver I »

Hello, everyone!

I just joined the forum, and I am happy to have come across the AnimePast website; I've always felt there was something different about that era of anime fandom, but it was also something I could never quite place my finger on - maybe that's something discussions here can uncover.

My name is Nathan, and I'm an historian and author, based in Virginia. I've written a little on anime and manga topics, but mostly so far on popular culture around the turn of, to the mid, century - pulp magazines, comic books, dime novels, and the like. My most recent book was recently nominated for an Eisner Award, for best Scholarly/Academic work, so I'm really happy about that.

I first got into anime in the early 90s, but did not start going to conventions or anything of the sort until later in the decade. I chose my forum name because, while Guyver was not the first anime I watched, it was the one that really got me hooked on the medium. From that, I branched into other titles, largely mecha, but not entirely - always having an interest in history, I would go back and find poorly (or not at all) fan-subtitled copies of older, benchmark series, such as the the first few Gundams, Ideon, Urusei Yatsura, 70s Devilman, the Galaxy Express 999 television series, Mazinger Z, and others. The newest entries into the Gundam and Evangelion (a series that has remained among my favorite fictional works of all time, period) franchises, I've enjoyed a great deal, as well as other, new and original titles; I have also been going back and watching titles from "back then" - El-Hazard, Trigun, Blue Seed, and other works of the era that I truly associate with my period of fandom.