The roughly mid-90's and earlier (generally pre-Toonami, pre-anime boom) era of anime & manga fandom: early cons, clubs, tape trading, Nth Generation VHS fansubs, old magazines & fanzines, fandubs, ancient merchandise, rec.arts.anime, and more!
greg
Anime Fan Since: 1989 (consciously)

Post by greg »

So what are your memories of 1994?

For me, I graduated high school. I was so glad to put that chapter of my life behind me, and I was looking forward to college. From the money I received as graduation gift money, I bought myself a Super Nintendo. But actually before that, I had already bought Ranma 1/2: Hard Battle for the SNES. I got it on clearance at KB Toys in the mall. Even though this game was heavily sponsored by Viz, it still flopped. It was certainly no Street Fighter II, and the only people who bought it were anime fans, and there weren't so many of us back in those days.

That summer, I worked at a Mediterranean food place in the same mall. The place would have been nice if it wasn't bankrupt. They could barely afford to buy even ketchup most of the time. We sold gyros, which aren't bad tasting. But after working there, I hated those things. The meat came packed in these unholy buckets, which I had to impale on a metal rod. It slid out in a bucket shape and they were then slowly rotated next to a grill to cook. They bled grease all day and it dripped into pans. When these pans filled up, we'd dump them into this big huge, evil-smelling barrel of manevolence. On top of that, we had to serve food like hummus (which I thought was gross at the time), and stinky feta cheese (which I also don't mind so much now that I am older). I quit at the end of that summer before I would have eventually snapped from hearing people mispronounce "gyros" all day with a soft "g" sound.